Want to take your education and career to the international level? Taught fully in English, ITMO University’s International Master’s programs provide an excellent opportunity to enhance your international expertise.

Most of the programs are developed by ITMO University in collaboration with leading universities from all over the world. Students receive a double Master’s degree for completing one two-year program, studying for a year at each of the universities. Double-degree Master’s programs are designed to deliver knowledge and experience in an international environment. Through immersive learning and working with leading scientists and experts, students learn what it takes to become future leaders in their fields.

ITMO University’s International Master’s programs offer a:

  • thrilling and insightful experience of living and studying in an international environment;

  • rare opportunity to study and work with an international team of researchers on the cutting edge of science;

  • highly specialized curriculum in your field;

  • personalized study plan geared to your interests;

  • global perspective on the best practices, newest technologies, and future opportunities in your field;

  • broad range of potential employment opportunities with global companies, agencies, and organizations anywhere in the world.

Advance your career, experience new cultures, and invest in your future!

International Master’s Programs Application Guide

Choose Your Program

ITMO University’s cutting-edge International Master’s programs allow you to get two top-rank universities’ degrees in one! Through immersive learning and active collaboration with leading scientists and experts, students get the necessary knowledge and skills to become future leaders in their fields.

You can find the full list of programs here.

Check the Application Deadlines

Your application must be submitted before the deadline. Application deadlines may vary from one International Master’s program to another. Please check your chosen program’s deadline on the corresponding webpage.

Brush Up on Your English Language Skills

All ITMO University’s International Master’s programs are taught in English, so you have to be fluent (Upper-Intermediate level and higher) to apply.

ITMO University’s Foreign Language Training Center offers a wide range of English language courses that will help you improve on your English and ace the international English exams which you’ll need to pass to prove your language proficiency for the majority of ITMO’s International Master’s programs.

Prepare Your Documents and Submit Your Application

Please follow this link to complete and send in the application form.

When completing your application, please use your official name as indicated in your ID and other application documents. Make sure your email address is valid as all ITMO University correspondence will be sent to the email address you enter in the Application Form.

1. General documents

  • Application form (submitted online)
  • A copy and a notarized Russian translation of national ID (passport) used for traveling to Russia. Your passport must be valid for at least six months after the end of your stay in Russia.
  • Official education document (B.A. diploma) stating your grades. Please note that it should be accompanied by a notarized translation which can be done through a Russian consulate or Ministry of Foreign Affairs in your home country.
  • Your photo. You will be asked to upload your photo while completing the online application form. You will also have to provide ITMO University with four printed photos in the 3*4 cm format when you arrive in St. Petersburg.

2. Medical documents

  • Medical certificate with HIV test taken less than 6 months ago
  • Medical certificate stating that you have no medical restrictions to study abroad
  • Vaccination certificate

After submitting your application, please send the scanned copies of the main application documents (ID/passport, diploma, transcript of records) to Alvina Kiseleva, Head of Admission Office at aakiseleva@corp.ifmo.ru.

Pass the Entrance Tests

All applicants are required to pass the online entrance examination successfully. Coordinators of educational programs inform the applicants about the date and time of their respective examinations and provide all the necessary instructions. 

Wait for Your ITMO University Letter of Acceptance

Check the email you’ve submitted in the application form regularly so that you don’t miss your ITMO University Acceptance Letter. It may take up to three weeks after the documents submission deadline to receive this email.

Pay the Tuition Fees

Students are responsible for paying their tuition fees, airplane tickets, housing and living expenses, as well as health insurance. Tuition fees are calculated based on the cost of the chosen program and housing option, as well as the availability of grants and scholarships.

Click here to learn about other opportunities for applicants.

Apply for a Student Visa

To enter the Russian Federation all international visitors are required to have the official visa stamp in their passports. Citizens of some countries do not require visa to enter the Russian Federation, but in most cases the duration of their stay in Russia is limited. Please contact the Russian consulate in your home country to check the visa requirements.

You can get a Russian student visa at a Russian embassy in your home country. ITMO University provides all successful applicants with the official Invitation Letter needed for applying for student visa. The electronic invitation will be sent to the email you indicated in the application form. You will be required to print it and submit it to the Russian Consulate.

This Invitation Letter entitles you to a 90-days entry visa, which is issued by a Russian embassy or consulate in your home country. The period of your visa will be extended to cover the whole period of your Master’s program after you’ve signed a study contract with ITMO University.

Please note that all international visitors to Russia are required to get a migration registration upon their arrival in Russia. ITMO student support services will guide you through this process.

Get a Migration Registration

Please note that all international visitors to Russia are required to get a migration card and file for a migration registration upon their arrival in Russia.

Migration card is a document certifying international citizens’ stay in Russia. You can ask for a migration card form when boarding your flight to Russia or get it at a special information desk near the passport control.

On the day of your arrival to Russia (or the first following working day should you arrive at the weekend), you’ll need to visit ITMO University Migration Services Office (9 Lomonosova street, room 2139d) to get your migration registration.

Please bring the following documents with you:

  • Your passport
  • Your student visa
  • Your migration card with an official stamp indicating that you’ve crossed the Russian border.

All international students should also have a valid medical insurance. This can be obtained at any insurance company or through ITMO University International Students Learning and Support Center (9 Lomonosova street, room 2139b).

Get Ready for the Student Life

Welcome to ITMO University!

You know the drill: all work and no play is never a good option. We at ITMO University want to make your student experience as enjoyable and memorable as it can be. Find out about the fun ITMO students are having by following this link. There are also lots of things happening sportswise. And here’s what other international students say about their time at ITMO.

Worried about the housing? Don’t be! ITMO University offers a wide range of housing options, all conveniently located either within the limits of the university’s student town or in close proximity to St. Petersburg metro stations. Please follow this link to find out more.

Upon your arrival in Russia, you’ll get a personal International Student Advisor, who will help you feel right at home: from housing at one of the dorms to buying metro passes to finding new friends, you’ll get settled in and on your way to your great adventure. And in the meantime, check out ITMO University’s English news portal to get a feel of lots of exciting things happening in ITMO!

FAQ

What accommodation is offered for international students?

ITMO University provides students with accommodation in several dormitories in different districts of St. Petersburg. A majority of international students are housed in the two dorms on Vyazemsky Lane 5-7 and Karpovka Embankment 22. Both are located in the historic center of St. Petersburg, not far from ITMO University's main building. You can see all of ITMO's buildings and dorms in the city on this map. Read more about ITMO’s dorms on our website or our news portal.

How is the online entrance examination carried out? What is the passing score?

The online entrance examination is carried out via the online examination system ITMOproctor. Applicants are provided with a manual and the logins and passwords needed to enter the system. Coordinators of educational programs inform the applicants about the date and time of their respective examinations. Applicants are expected to answer several examination questions in English and have a short interview with the examiner. The lowest passing score is 50 out of 100.

What are the average living expenses in St. Petersburg?

Life in St. Petersburg is a lot cheaper than in many European capitals. An average student needs from 20,000 to 30,000 rubles per month. If you want to learn about the costs of living in St. Petersburg, read about it here or on our news portal.

How can I obtain a student visa for studies at ITMO University?

After an applicant has successfully passed the entrance examination, they will receive an official invitation from ITMO University. These invitations allow students to apply for student visas in their home country's Russian embassy or consulate. For more information on Russian immigration-related regulations and the required procedures go here or read the article on our news portal.

Are there any sports and hobby clubs at ITMO University?

Whatever your talent, let it shine at ITMO! Everyone can find something for themselves here by choosing from the wide range of sports clubs and numerous creative clubs.

What kind of support do international students receive at ITMO University?

ITMO University has several initiatives designed to help international students in adapting to the new city and culture. Among such projects are ITMO University’s International Student Council, "Get Local" International Students Club, and the buddy program.

When applying for an international Master’s degree program, do I need to submit a certified translation of my academic documents if the documents are originally in English?

According to our admission rules, all submitted academic documents should be translated into Russian. However, during the application process, applicants are allowed to submit documents in English provided that it is a document’s original language. A certified translation is required when the admission of the applicant is confirmed.

Can international students work during their studies?

International students are allowed to be employed by the university without any restrictions. However, if a student would like to work outside the university, an official permit is required. Only full-time students can receive a work permit. Work permits are issued by the regional office of the General Administration for Migration Issues of the Interior Ministry of Russia.

Can I bring my spouse/child/any other relative with me?

International students are free to bring their family members with them. However, ITMO University does not issue invitations for the students’ family members and does not register them at the University’s premises. Family members are not allowed to stay at the student dormitories and are not provided any administrative support.

Still got questions?

ITMO International Admission Office

Lomonosova St. 9, office 2139c, St. Petersburg, Russia, 191002
International Educational Programs Department
international@mail.ifmo.ru +7 (812) 457-17-90

Хотите вывести своё образование и карьерные перспективы на международный уровень? Международные магистерские программы Университета ИТМО предоставляют в два раза больше возможностей и открытий!

Университет ИТМО предлагает бакалаврам и специалистам уникальную возможность стать частью международных магистерских программ. Обучение построено по принципу полного погружения в научную среду и сотрудничества с ведущими международными учеными и экспертами в выбранной области. Проучившись год в Университете ИТМО и год в партнерском зарубежном вузе, вы получите два диплома о присуждении степени магистра.

Преимущества программ международной магистратуры Университета ИТМО:

  • возможность учиться и работать вместе с международной командой исследователей;

  • индивидуальная программа обучения, ориентированная на ваши научные и карьерные интересы;

  • глобальная перспектива в отношении передовой практики, новейших технологий и будущих возможностей в вашей области;

  • широкие возможности трудоустройства в крупных компаниях, агентствах и организациях по всему миру;

  • две магистерских степени (одна от Университета ИТМО и одна от вуза-партнера) за два года обучения;

  • увлекательный опыт проживания и учебы в университете за рубежом (в течении одного или двух семестров)!

Развивайте карьеру, знакомьтесь с другими культурами, и стройте своё будущее!

*Всё обучение на международных программах магистратуры Университета ИТМО ведётся на английском языке.

Гид по поступлению на программу международной магистратуры

Выбираю образовательную программу

Программы международной магистратуры, реализуемые Университетом ИТМО совместно с ведущими российскими и зарубежными вузами, предлагает обладателям степени бакалавра или инженера специалиста уникальную возможность получить два диплома о высшем образовании за два года обучения.

Полный список программ со стоимостью обучения и вступительными требованиями представлен здесь.

Знакомлюсь со сроками подачи документов

Обратите внимание, что для успешного зачисления на программу международной магистратуры всем абитуриентам необходимо подать заявление и другие необходимые документы в установленные сроки приема документов. Так как они разнятся от программы к программе, Вы сможете уточнить их в списке программ международной магистратуры.

Изучаю английский язык

Английский язык является основным языком обучения на программах международной магистратуры ИТМО; более того, владение английским на уровне Upper-Intermediate является одним из основных вступительных требований.

Подтянуть свой английский и подготовиться к сдаче международных экзаменов, сертификаты которых требуются для поступления на большинство программ международной магистратуры, Вы сможете на курсах Центра изучения иностранных языков Университета ИТМО.

Готовлю и подаю документы

Процесс подачи заявления происходит в информационной системе приемной комиссии. Перечень необходимых документов включает:

  • Личную анкету и заявление (заполняется на сайте приемной комиссии)
  • Копию документов, удостоверяющих Вашу личность и гражданство (тот документ, на основе которого Вы планируете въезжать на территорию РФ в случае поступления)
  • Копию и нотариально заверенный перевод национального паспорта (страницы с фотографией, фамилией и именем)
  • Документ об образовании (оригинал или копия*) с приложением, где указаны изученные предметы и полученные по ним на экзаменах оценок (баллов), а также нотариально заверенный перевод этих документов на русский язык
  • Сертификат об окончании подготовительного отделения Университета (если Вы его заканчивали)
  • 4 фотографии 3×4 см (матовые)
  • Медицинские документы

*В первом комплекте документов должна присутствовать копия документа об образовании (при необходимости – с переводом), так как данные документа фигурируют в анкете и заявлении. В случае рекомендации к зачислению на бюджетную форму обучения необходимо предоставить оригинал документа об образовании и Заявление о согласии на зачисление. Для зачисления на контрактную форму обучения достаточно предоставить нотариально заверенную копию.

Обратите внимание, что ввод данных в систему – это только предварительный этап подачи документов. Для завершения процесса подачи документов Вам необходимо отправить по почте или подать лично распечатанные из системы и подписанные анкету и заявление и другие необходимые документы по адресу 197101, Санкт-Петербург, пр. Кронверкский, д. 49, Университет ИТМО, Приёмная комиссия.

Сдаю вступительные испытания

Для зачисления на программы международной магистратуры Университета ИТМО всем абитуриентам необходимо успешно сдать вступительные испытания. Координаторы программ сообщат Вам всю необходимую информацию о дате и времени испытаний и ответят на все Ваши вопросы.

О дополнительных возможностях поступления читайте здесь

Жду письма о зачислении

Регулярно проверяйте адрес электронной почты, который Вы указали в Вашем заявлении – официальное письмо от Университета ИТМО, подтверждающее Ваше зачисление на выбранную программу международной магистратуры, должно прийти в течение трех недель с момента окончания срока приема документов.

Оплачиваю стоимость обучения

Пожалуйста, уточните стоимость обучения на странице выбранной Вами программы. Университет ИТМО принимает оплату картой или наличными в банк.

Оформляю учебную визу

Для въезда на территорию РФ большинству иностранных студентов необходима учебная виза, которая выдается в посольстве (консульстве) России на территории страны Вашего проживания и действует в течение 90 дней. По истечении этого срока учебную визу возможно будет продлить через отдел миграционного учета Университета ИТМО.

Университет ИТМО оформляет приглашение на обучение, необходимое для получения учебной визы, по факту успешного зачисления. Оформление приглашения занимает не менее одного месяца. Приглашение будет отправлено Вам на электронный адрес, указанный в заявлении. Распечатайте и подайте приглашение в российское посольство (консульство) в стране Вашего проживания для получения учебной визы.

Приглашение и учебная виза не требуются для граждан следующих стран:

  • Азербайджан;
  • Армения;
  • Белоруссия;
  • Молдова;
  • Казахстан;
  • Киргизия;
  • Таджикистан;
  • Узбекистан;
  • Украина.

Оформляю свое пребывание на территории РФ

По приезду в Россию все иностранные студенты обязательно должны оформить миграционную карту и быть поставлены на миграционный учет.

Миграционная карта является обязательным документом для нахождения иностранного гражданина в России. Бланк миграционной карты можно получить в самолете или взять на специальной стойке недалеко от паспортного контроля.

В день прибытия или на следующий рабочий день до 12:00 всем иностранным студентам следует прийти в отдел миграционного учета Университета (ул. Ломоносова, д. 9, кабинет 2139d) для постановки на миграционный учет. С собой необходимо иметь:

  • Паспорт (или другой удостоверяющий личность документ, по которому был совершен въезд);
  • Визу;
  • Миграционную карту с отметкой о пересечении границы Российской Федерации.

Всем иностранным абитуриентам также необходимо иметь действующую медицинскую страховку, которую можно оформить как в любой страховой компании, так и в Центре обучения иностранных студентов (ул. Ломоносова, д. 9, кабинет 2139b).

Готовлюсь к студенческой жизни и знакомлюсь с Петербургом

Добро пожаловать в ИТМО!

Наши студенты не только активно и плодотворно учатся, но и весело отдыхают и развивают свои таланты в многочисленных творческих и спортивных секциях Университета ИТМО. Присоединяйтесь!

Университет ИТМО предлагает большой ряд общежитий, удобно расположенных в черте университетского кампуса или рядом со станциями метро. Здесь можно найти перечень общежитий и пошаговый гид для по заселению, а здесь можно узнать больше о Петербурге.

Вопросы-ответы

Предоставляется ли иностранным студентам общежитие?

Университет ИТМО предоставляет студентам общежитие в различных районах Санкт-Петербурга. Большая часть иностранных студентов размещается в двух общежитиях по адресам Вяземский переулок, 5-7 и набережная р. Карповки, 22. Оба здания располагаются в историческом центре Санкт-Петербурга, неподалеку от главного корпуса Университета ИТМО. На данной карте можно ознакомиться с расположением всех учебных корпусов и общежитий университета в СПб. Узнать подробнее об общежитиях ИТМО вы можете на нашем сайте или на нашем новостном портале.

Каким образом проходит онлайн-тестирование? Каков минимальный балл?

Онлайн-тестирование проводится на основе тестинговой системы ITMOproctor. Абитуриентам предоставляется руководство по пользованию системой, а также логин и пароль для входа в систему. Координаторы образовательных программ сообщают абитуриентам дату и время тестирования. От абитуриентов требуется ответить на несколько вопросов на английском языке и побеседовать с экзаменатором. Минимальный проходной балл – 50 из 100.

Какова примерная стоимость проживания в Санкт-Петербурге?

Стоимость проживания в Санкт-Петербурге намного ниже, чем во многих других европейских мегаполисах. В среднем студенту требуется от 20000 до 30000 рублей в месяц. Подробнее о стоимости проживания в Санкт-Петербурге можно узнать на нашем сайте или новостном портале.

Как мне получить студенческую визу для обучения в ИТМО?

Абитуриенты, успешно прошедшие вступительные испытания, получают официальное приглашение от Университета ИТМО. Данное приглашение дает студентам право подать заявку на студенческую визу в в посольстве или консульстве Российской Федерации в своей стране. Подробнее о российском миграционном законодательстве и процедурах можно узнать на нашем сайте или новостном портале.

Есть ли в ИТМО спортивные секции, кружки, клубы?

Чем бы вы ни увлекались, в ИТМО у вас всегда будет возможность проявить себя! Наш университет предлагает большое количество спортивных и творческих клубов и секций.

Какие в ИТМО есть службы поддержки студентов?

В ИТМО есть несколько проектов, созданных с целью помочь иностранным студентам адаптироваться к новому городу и культуре. Среди них: Совет Иностранных Студентов, клуб Get Local и программа студентов-“бадди”.

Я хочу поступить на международную магистерскую программу в ИТМО. Необходимо ли предоставлять заверенные переводы документов об образовании, если их изначальным языком является английский?

Согласно нашим правилам приема, все предоставляемые документы должны быть переведены на русский язык. При этом, при подаче заявки абитуриенты имеют право предоставлять документы на английском языке в случае если он является изначальным языком этих документов. Заверенный перевод необходимо предоставить в том случае, если заявка абитуриента одобрена.

Могут ли иностранные студенты совмещать учебу с работой?

Иностранные студенты имеют право работать в качестве сотрудников университета. Студентам, желающим работать на стороннего работодателя, требуется официальное разрешение. Получить разрешение на работу могут только студенты, обучающиеся очно. Разрешения выдаются региональным отделением Главного управления по вопросам миграции Министерства внутренних дел Российской Федерации.

Могут ли со мной приехать мои супруг/супруга/ребенок/другие родственники?

Иностранным студентам не воспрещается приезжать вместе с членами семьи. Однако Университет ИТМО не предоставляет приглашения членам семей студентов и не регистрирует их. Члены семьи не могут останавливаться в студенческих общежитиях, и им не предоставляется какая-либо административная поддержка.

Остались вопросы?